Even Vikings Need Some Love

So in the previous post I said that I avoided barbarians and vikings in my romance novels because I assume the heroes will be douche alphas who rape and pillage. I was just browsing the Avon Romance blog and it seems I may have to give vikings a chance.

Sandra Hill refutes the “vikings are rapetastic alpha maniacs” with this blog post concerning her novel “The Viking Takes a Knight.”

Readers who are avid fans of medieval romances often decline to try Viking ones, largely because they have a distorted view of Vikings as vicious rapers and pillagers.  But that is just a distorted representation perpetuated by the biased monk historians of that time period.

But here’s the neat thing about Vikings.  Their women were given more independence than other females of that time. Although they had little  choice in a husband (marriages were arranged for gain or military alliance), they could own their own land.  Everything they brought to a marriage was theirs, including the dowry.  And if they wanted to divorce their husbands, all they had to do was announce before witnesses, “I divorce you.”

Alright Sandra Hill. I will be looking out at the library for this book and I will review what I find. Although the hero is a Saxon knight (not a viking) I’m still excited to see the culture clash and a strong viking woman as the heroine. Maybe I’ll find a whole new genre to swoon over.

0 Responses to “Even Vikings Need Some Love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


