The Courtly Lover and The Libertine

Happy New Year! You guys better enjoy it because we’re all going to die when 2012 hits. Or this May, according to some groups. Just in case we do all perish, be sure to read some good books this year.

In my last review I mentioned my addiction to books dealing with wicked rakes. It’s a little more than that: if a character is a flirt, a playboy or a casanova…I eat it up. I’m not into womanizers or overgrown frat boys. The character I like  is less Barney Stinson/Joey Tribbiani and more Sir Percy meets The Goblin King.

I tend to encounter two sub-categories of this archetype: the gentler, often (but not always) humorous Courtly Lover and his dark cousin, the Libertine. These two share a love of women and know how to woo them (though the heroine usually has more resistance than their other conquests). Where they differ is in how sordid their love lives are and how much they skirt into villainish territory.

The Courtly Lover

When I think of the Courtly Lover I think of Howl (the book version by Diana Wynne Jones, not the movie version. The movie is awesome but Miyazaki changed a lot of stuff.) Howl has a reputation for devouring the hearts of young ladies and being a generally wicked wizard. We meet him and realise that he doesn’t eat hearts but he does fall in love with many women, capturing their hearts in quite a different way. He has the possibility to become a bad wizard and the heroine Sophie spends a lot of time whipping him into shape and making sure he doesn’t end up on the wrong path.

So we have a man often very concerned with his dress and appearance (Howl FREAKS when his hair is accidentally turned orange) with a bad reputation often not explicitly detailed (we rarely see the other women the Courtly Lover is conquesting or if we do, the interactions are rarely lewd). He is often an object of scorn or humor, his foolish facade often masking a man of sharp intellect, deep emotions or both. When he’s in contemporary fiction, The Courtly Lover is a smooth-talking man with a past but once he hooks into the heroine, he’s after her and wants her for the rest of the book. (Nora Roberts has the best of these guys.)

I think I see The Courtly Lover more often in YA fiction than in Adult Romance. And I think I see this character more often in anime and video games than books, though I’d love to see him thrive in literature. I’m fascinated by characters who hide their true selves and I prefer the masks of foppery or cheerfulness over the gloomy, emotionless ones (I like those too >>.) The Courtly Lover provides the mixture of self-confidence, humor and hidden depths that makes me smile.

Examples of The Courtly Lover (in books and other media)

Sloan O’Reilly from The Calhouns: A Man for Amanda by Nora Roberts

Tucker Longstreet from Carnal Innocence by Nora Roberts

Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Zelos from Tales of Symphonia

Cesar from Princess Debut

The Libertine

The Libertine is a lot like the Courtly Lover: handsome, often well-groomed, witty, bad reputation. Except the Libertine isn’t just misunderstood or mostly censored. His conquests can range from a tryst with a current lover at the beginning to participating in an orgy. The Libertine is the character unashamed of his sexual desires and  eager to bring out the heroine’s sensual side. Like Dain from Lord of Scoundrels or Lazarus from Wicked Intentions there’s a complex person beneath all the purring lust.

Why do I love these seducers so much? Probably because the authors do them so well that I’m lulled in with the heroine. When a character is written so well his charisma pours off the page, you feel it. And when it’s not as well-written? I’m not going to deny that I like the bad boys. Redeemable ones but still, they’re fun in media whether they’re a villain or a hero, whether the writing is good or bad.

And along with the confidence and hidden depths that the Libertine shares with The Courtly Lover, I like seeing the hero meet that one special person and that’s it. That one person sticks in their mind where countless women have not. It makes for a good love story, no matter how many times I see it.

Not all Libertines are good guys. As a lil’ chitlin, I always liked the stories where the Hero and the Heroine loved each other but oh no! The  Villain wants the Heroine too! And often kidnaps her! And maybe a love potion is involved! (I think I enacted this scene enough times with stuffed animals and Barbies that one of my companions refused to play dolls with me anymore because that was the only plotline I wanted to do. Oh childhood.)

Anyway, I like the seductive villains too, whether they’re potentially good or evil through and through. I realize I often make a big deal over when heroes do something stupid/bad/wrong so why would I like the evillest people in the book? Well these seductive libertine villains know exactly what they are and what they are doing. They don’t do something douchey and then have no one call them out for it and have everyone laud them as a hero. Do what you want but at least own what you do. (End mini-rant).

Examples of The Libertine

Lazarus Huntington from Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

Irial from Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

Paul Slater from The Mediator series by Meg Cabot

Francis Rohan from Ruthless by Anne Stuart

Lord Byron from Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford

Vicomte de Valmont from Dangerous Liaisions by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos

Richard Lovelace from Clarissa by Samuel Richardson

Jareth from The Labyrinth

I realise the Libertine has a lot more examples than the Courtly Lover. I have to say I love them equally but I definitely see more of the latter in books (hence my supplementing the Courtly Lover list with video game characters). If there are some Courtly Lovers you know of, let me know. I would love to read them.

17 Responses to “The Courtly Lover and The Libertine”


  1. 1 www.ip-adress.com February 8, 2013 at 4:31 am

    Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

  2. 2 Prima Cleanse September 13, 2014 at 12:46 am

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries
    that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without
    having side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  3. 3 ableton live 9 crack September 14, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I was suggested this web site through my cousin. I’m no longer certain whether this post is written via
    him aas no one ellse know such particular about my trouble.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  4. 4 Route Your Destination September 23, 2014 at 12:22 am

    It’s an remarkable article in favor of all the web visitors; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  5. 5 basketball coach September 25, 2014 at 2:10 am

    Extend the arm and hand at 90 degrees toward
    the ball, palm down (as in first photo). With this you’ll get Nat Marrinson, a twelve-year old
    kid related to Bruce Marrinson who works in the EA’s VC dep.
    He was very disciplined in the way he ran his basketball teams,
    and had a set of values and rules that he would not break for anyone.

  6. 6 http://webcty.com/ September 25, 2014 at 3:21 am

    This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Many
    thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  7. 7 Robert October 1, 2014 at 10:31 am

    I’ve learn several good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you put to make one of these
    fantastic informative website.

  8. 8 юридическая консультация военнослужащий October 1, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    I think everything said was very reasonable. However, what
    about this? what if you typed a catchier title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but suppose
    you added something that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean The Courtly Lover and The
    Libertine | Literary Mancandy is kinda vanilla. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create post titles to grab
    people to click. You might add a video or a picture or two to grab
    readers interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your website a little bit more interesting.

  9. 9 rhinoplasty new orleans October 3, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    If some one wishes expert view about running a blog
    afterward i suggest him/her to go to see this website, Keep up the nice work.

  10. 10 Trans Chiasso October 4, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really know
    what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Please additionally discuss with my site =).
    We could have a hyperlink alternate arrangement between us

  11. 11 forgeofempirescheat.wordpress.com October 6, 2014 at 8:37 am

    What you posted was very logical. But, what about this?
    what if you added a little content? I am not saying your content isn’t good, but
    suppose you added a headline that makes people desire more?
    I mean The Courtly Lover and The Libertine | Literary Mancandy is a little vanilla.
    You should look at Yahoo’s front page and note how they write
    post headlines to get people interested. You might add a video or a pic or two to grab readers excited about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it
    would bring your website a little bit more interesting.

  12. 12 sliding door cafe newport beach October 7, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    The Courtly Lover and The Libertine | Literary Mancandy
    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this
    site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you
    in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own website now 😉

  13. 13 tas givenchy terbaru November 12, 2015 at 3:41 am

    Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but when starting in my
    web browser, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, awesome blog!


  1. 1 para ninos mx Trackback on October 1, 2014 at 7:05 pm
  2. 2 Eternity Cleanse Trackback on October 13, 2014 at 9:28 am
  3. 3 Kevin Kerekes Trackback on November 20, 2014 at 9:57 pm
  4. 4 online auto insurance companies list Trackback on January 24, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers


