Romance and the Mancandy

Happy valentine’s all! Whether you are single or taken, I hope you all appreciate the idea of romance. Especially since that’s the genre of books that I tend to review the most. So in honor of the holiday, I’m bringing you a list of the top five most romantic book heroes.

5. Philip Wakem from The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot

Philip Wakem is the one on the left.

Oh Philip. He loves heroine Maggie Tulliver and is one of the few men in her life who appreciates her intelligence and spirit. I was rooting through out this book for Philip to win out against all the forces against him: families feuds, Maggie’s awful brother, his own father’s prejudices. The ending was not a happy one for the parties involved but until the novel broke my heart, it romanced me with Philip’s sweet character.

4. John Brooke from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott


Of all the beaus in Little Women, I loved John Brooke the most. Laurie was fun and Professor Bhaer was intelligent but I loved the dynamic of his and Meg’s relationship. There were moments of tension as Meg gives up dreams of being a rich man’s wife and accepts John. He is mature and sweet to her and next to Jo’s authorly aspirations,  I loved Meg and John’s sections the most.

3. Michael Moscovitz from The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Meg Cabot almost always delivers on the male interests but MM is one of my favorites (especially since we get 10 books to get to know him). He makes a few mistakes but he’s overall a really really sweet guy who loves heroine Mia for who she is and is compared at different times to Han Solo, Mr. Rochester and Beast. Mia is the more fanciful, romantic one of the pair but he has his really cute gestures as well.

2. Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Mr. Darcy, what can I say about you that hasn’t been said? You started out a little proud and arrogant but your love for Elizabeth Bennet softened you. It made you a hero, saving her younger sister (and the whole family) from ruin and caused you to fix the mistake you made in separating Bingley and Jane. Pride and Prejudice, be it the original novel or one of the many spin-offs, is always a good romantic uplift thanks to dear, dear Mr. Darcy.

 

1. Captain Wentworth from Persuasion by Jane Austen

Some say that Persuasion is far more romantic a story than Pride and Prejudice. I can see it: even though Anne Elliot was convinced to reject Captain Wentworth’s proposal and they parted ways, they still carry torches for the other. I felt much more torn when Anne thought Wentworth didn’t love her anymore than I did over Darcy and Elizabeth’s misunderstandings (as much as I love that pair). But when we learn that upon re-meeting her, Wentworth begins to adore her as he once did, we start to swoon. He doesn’t have grand gestures of affection like Michael Moscovitz keeping Mia’s special snowflake necklace even when they were broken up or Mr. Darcy saving her family but his quiet, deep love is still incredibly romantic and puts him at the top of my list.

 

3 Responses to “Romance and the Mancandy”


  1. 1 Trail Running Shoes September 20, 2014 at 10:08 am

    I like the helpful information you supply for your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again right here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I’ll be told many new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. 2 botox brow lift September 25, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a
    captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as
    yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  3. 3 Www.Youtube.Com October 4, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog
    and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos


Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


